A.D.A. Amiga Demoscene Archive

Welcome guest!

Demos Amiga Demoscene Archive Forum / Coding / AGA only C2P

NovaCoder
#1 - Posted: 17 Dec 2009 23:50
Reply Quote
Hiya,

Let me start off by saying that I'm a C++ coder, assembler is something I can spell and that's about it.

I'm working on an AGA only port of a PC VGA game (320x200x8bit) and need a fast C2P routine. I'm currently using the one from ADOOM, can someone have a look at it for me and answer my questions?

[url=http://home.iprimus.com.au/novacoder/c2p_030. s][/url]

Questions:

1) Is it still considered the best way of doing it?
2) Is it really 030 optimised or will it work just as well with an 020?
3) Is it AGA optimised, is there even such a optimisation possible/relevant?
4) Is it optimised for an 8bit 320x200 screen, does it support different resolutions ok?

The one problem I have with the routine at the moment is that it appears there is no way of only updating part of the screen (eg just the dirty rectangle(s)).

I've noticed that some C2P routines use a compare buffer instead of dirty rectangles, what do you guys think about that approach?
Kalms
#2 - Posted: 18 Dec 2009 01:06 - Edited
Reply Quote
1) Depends on your target platform.

For 020 & 030, a hybrid CPU+blitter solution is usually preferable to a pure-CPU solution. You might find that you can get better performance by rendering your chunkypixels in a pre-scrambled format (thereby lessening the amount of work necessary to do during the C2P conversion); that will make your other rendering code more complicated though.

For 68040+, a CPU-only solution will run at full speed, and the only result a CPU+blitter solution will yield is that you waste chipmem bandwidth and artificially limit the max framerate (as compared to a CPU-only solution).